Swiss Universities



The Swiss university landscape consists of 10 cantonal universities and two federal institutes of technology, with the oldest institution having been founded in 1460 (University of Basel), and the youngest in 2000 (University of Lucerne). The 12 institutions are located across the German-, French- and Italian-speaking regions as follows:

  • Five universities are located in German-speaking Switzerland (the universities of Basel, Lucerne, St.Gallen, Zurich and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich);
  • Two are in bilingual cantons (the universities of Bern and Fribourg);
  • Four are in French-speaking Switzerland (the universities of Geneva, Lausanne and Neuchâtel, as well as the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne); and
  • One is in the Italian-speaking canton of Ticino (Università della Svizzera italiana).

All institutions are recognized and publicly funded. Most of the larger Swiss universities cover all subjects and have medical schools, while others belong to the group of technical universities or universities of business and economics. They all offer degree programmes at bachelor, master’s and PhD level as well as in continuing/further education.

The core missions of these traditional universities are fundamental research and research-based teaching. Many programmes are taught completely, or partly, in English.

***Obtained from

ارتقاء امنیت وب با وف بومی